Top Bar


Society of Mary

To be a Marist is to have a sense of being chosen and called by Mary - "a gracious choice" - to compassionately and mercifully live as she did as mother and disciple of God.


The word Marist is a family name, "a tree with several branches," belonging to five religious communities: the Society of Mary (Marist Fathers and Brothers), Marist Brothers of the Schools, Marist Sisters, Missionary Sisters of the Society of Mary, and the Marist Laity.